I admit without any shame or reservations: I LOVE musicals. My DVD collection here at home is made up of a large number of musicals and I love watching every single one of them over and over and over again! And, yes, I sing along with every single song in every single movie! Granted, I might not have a voice others want to hear, but I just can't help myself! Bring on the music!
I've always been a fan of Le Miserables even though I have never read the book or seen the play performed. I've always wanted to; I just never have had a chance to do either. I will be reading the book this year; I'm starting it in February, in fact--as soon as I finish Anna Karenina.
So when the movie version came out last month, I was excited to see it. I'm surprised I didn't go the first day it was released; I had to wait almost a week. Regardless, it was worth it! I loved it! Granted, it IS a VERY long movie--all of 3 hours. But it is an enjoyable 3 hours.
The story is incredible. Even though almost every major character dies, the overall theme of the story is one of redemption. Everyone who seeks redemption, finds it. Some don't seek it, so they don't find it--those are the pitiful endings to the subplots. (BTW: if you didn't realize that almost all the major characters die, you aren't paying attention to the title....just saying.)
I fell in love with every character--except those played by Helena Bonham Carter and Sasha Baron Cohen. Those two are meant to be rotten through and through and to be disliked greatly; they are. I'm not even going to attempt to try to name names simply because the names are French and I have no idea--YET--how to spell them!!! So if I say a character's name, as you've seen already, I'm going to use the actor's name!!!
The absolute best review I've seen or heard so far for the movie version of Le Mis is as follows--it's just TOO funny!!!!!!---http://now.msn.com/funny-les-miserables-review-on-facebook#scptmfs
It really is difficult to focus on the story sometimes because these actors'/actresses' previous or other roles are so much a part of who they are! They're great in their roles for Le Mis, but still....
Since this movie is receiving such great reviews and seems to be on the lips of so many movie-lovers, I've talked with quite a few about it, as well. One of the things that I've heard from a couple of folks who saw the movie is how they hated it BECAUSE IT IS A MUSICAL.
Even though I have NOTHING to do with this story in any way, shape, form, or fashion, I feel particularly offended that ANYONE would not like a story/movie mainly--or even simply--because it's a MUSICAL!!! Yet, I LOVE the movie mainly--and simply--because it is a MUSICAL! It's really awesome! I think it would be so very awesome if we would sing our way through our lives---and everyone else around us would join in the song as if they've always known exactly what is coming! Oh, and don't forget the dance routines!
I heard an actor say once that we hear words sung on a completely different, deeper emotional level than the spoken word. Since I believe that to be a thousand percent true, what does it say about people who don't LIKE a musical??? What emotions are they not feeling--or allowing themselves to feel? Are they simply shallow individuals who can't feel anything on an emotional level? Based on those who have made such comments about the musical, I don't THINK that's true. But I just can't help wondering what it is that makes certain people NOT like musicals.......No one has yet to explain the dislike of musicals (to me) in a way that truly explains what makes musicals unlikable.
Even though Pretty Woman is one of my least favorite movies of all time, I love when Richard Gere tells Julia Roberts that one either loves the theater or hates it. I think it's the same way with all musicals--whether they're performed on a stage or in a movie. One either loves them or hates them.
But why is that exactly??? I know that for me, I wouldn't mind if almost every movie ever made was a musical--yes, I pay attention to the music in ALL movies. So what is it that makes them unlikable????
Honest. I'm asking. Help me understand.......
Oh, and don't forget that the VERY yummy and wonderful Hugh Jackman plays one of the title roles in the movie! What makes him more wonderful than even his story is the fact that the gorgeous man can sing, too!!!!
Sunday, January 13, 2013
I am IronMan!
When I came home after running to the grocery story this evening, my son had put Iron Man 2 in to watch. We watched the first one last night, so I guess it was a natural thing to go ahead and watch the second one tonight. You'll hear no complaints from me when it comes to watching any of the Iron Man movies! I am so very much looking forward to watching the third one when it comes out!!!!
Of all the superheroes, Iron Man is my favorite--among the men, that is. (For the female superheroes, no one comes even close to Wonder Woman! I used to have Wonder Woman Underoos! I loved those under-clothes! Whenever I would wear them, I would have to pretend to be Wonder Woman! Of course, I wore them as often as possible, so I pretended an awful lot!)
I think Iron Man is my favorite mostly because he admits right off the bat that he IS Iron Man. There isn't any of this pretending to be someone he's not mumbo-jumbo that happens with so many other superheroes. That secrecy stuff gets old, fast--for me. I like a man who's secure enough in himself and his "other side" to admit to it--to embrace both parts of himself. Sure, he comes across as cocky, arrogant, and one of the most narcissistic individuals ever (whether in any kind of story or living, real human being), but because he knows those things about himself and embraces them, it just makes him that much more adorable to me!
The only negative about Iron Man is Pepper Potts. She can go away. Why? Because Iron Man needs ME!!!! ;)
By the way, since I'm wanting to prove that I prefer books to movies, I'm going to try to say something about books in every post....Sadly, though, I have to admit that I have never read a single Iron Man comic book/story. My only experience with Iron Man is when it comes to the Iron Man movies....I don't regret THAT at all!
Of all the superheroes, Iron Man is my favorite--among the men, that is. (For the female superheroes, no one comes even close to Wonder Woman! I used to have Wonder Woman Underoos! I loved those under-clothes! Whenever I would wear them, I would have to pretend to be Wonder Woman! Of course, I wore them as often as possible, so I pretended an awful lot!)
I think Iron Man is my favorite mostly because he admits right off the bat that he IS Iron Man. There isn't any of this pretending to be someone he's not mumbo-jumbo that happens with so many other superheroes. That secrecy stuff gets old, fast--for me. I like a man who's secure enough in himself and his "other side" to admit to it--to embrace both parts of himself. Sure, he comes across as cocky, arrogant, and one of the most narcissistic individuals ever (whether in any kind of story or living, real human being), but because he knows those things about himself and embraces them, it just makes him that much more adorable to me!
The only negative about Iron Man is Pepper Potts. She can go away. Why? Because Iron Man needs ME!!!! ;)
By the way, since I'm wanting to prove that I prefer books to movies, I'm going to try to say something about books in every post....Sadly, though, I have to admit that I have never read a single Iron Man comic book/story. My only experience with Iron Man is when it comes to the Iron Man movies....I don't regret THAT at all!
Labels:
arrogant,
cocky,
Iron Man,
Iron Man 2,
narcississtic,
Pepper Potts,
Wonder Woman
Location:
Hickory, NC, USA
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

